Research Areas

 Lab Members


 Technical Reports

 News Articles


 Members Area


 Clinical Research





Research Staff

Technology Development

Sean Hickman is the Mechanical Technologist for the CIHR Group in Sensory-Motor Systems. He is involved in new product development, maintenance and repair of equipment.

Postdoctoral Fellows

Ph.D. Students

M.Sc Students

Undergraduate Students

Nolan Broeke joined the lab in September 2015. He is a Life Science's undergraduate student doing his 4th year thesis in neuroscience. Nolan works with healthy participants, assessing the role of haptic feedback on rapid motor movements.


Dr. Ryan Bicknell MD, Ph.D

Dr. J. Gordon Boyd MD, Ph.D

Dr. Douglas J. Cook MD, Ph.D

Dr. Albert Jin MD, Ph.D

Dr. Tim Murphy Ph.D.

Dr. Sean Taylor MD, Ph.D


Postdoctoral Fellows

Frédéric Crevecoeur joined the lab in July 2010. He took a postion at Université catholique de Louvain in August 2014.

Dr. Paul Gribble

Dr. Jae-Yoon Jung left the lab to take a position at Harvard Medical School in Boston.

Dr. Isaac Kurtzer is currently an Assistant Professor in the department of Neuroscience and Histology at New York College of Osteopathic Medicine

Ph.D Students

Dr. Angela Coderre finished her Ph.D in March 2011.

Dr. Timothy Lillicrap is currently a Postdoctoral Research Fellow in the Department of Pharmacology at University of Oxford.

Dr. Kathrin Tyryshkin was a Ph.D. student in the School of Computing under co-supervision of Janice Glasgow and Stephen Scott. She completed her Ph.D in September 2014.

Dr. Andrew Pruszynski left the lab in January 2011.

MSc. Students

Amr Abu-Zeid

Mariam Baig

Bill Cabel

Melanie Demmer

Baiju Devani

Kirsten Graham

Geoff King

Tereza Korbel

Stacey Rombough

Past Summer Students/Project Students

  • Sherwin Chan
  • Jake Crookall
  • Kris Croome
  • Brent Davis
  • Tom Depew
  • Steve Dorrepaal
  • Cheryl Dunham
  • Thomas Ferguson
  • Sarah Gregor
  • Kevin Gu
  • Michelle Hapuarachi
  • Kirk Haunts
  • Diana Hsiang
  • Benjamin Hu
  • Quynh Huynh
  • Ali Jahed
  • Raul Kuchinad
  • Evan Kuo
  • Tony Kuo
  • Penny Letts
  • Jenny Li
  • Nicole Love
  • Jonathan Michaels
  • Mary Muir
  • Shannon Neville
  • Elishka Pek
  • Addison Rich
  • Brock Sirko
  • Vidya Sri
  • Sharon Wong
  • Helen Xu
  • Lu Yang

Past Staff

Peter Boyd was a laboratory software engineer. Peter was involved in designing and implementing experimental control and data acquisition software. He is currently working in Toronto.

Dr. Ian Brown works part-time as Manager of Biomedical Product Development and part-time as Vice-President of BKIN Technologies. Dr. Brown received his B.A.Sc. in Engineering Physics here at Queen’s University, followed by a Ph.D. in muscle physiology, also at Queen’s, and then a post-doctoral fellowship at Caltech in the field of cerebellar neurophysiology. Before leaving Los Angeles, Dr. Brown spent 1.5 years as a researcher at the A.E. Mann Institute for Biomedical Engineering.  Dr. Brown has been working on technology development since moving back to Canada in the spring of 2002.  His work has focused primarily on the KINARM product line, including hardware, software and task development, and on managing the transfer of technology from lab to commercial enterprise.

Chris Grebeldinger was a laboratory software engineer from 2003 to 2005.

Jennifer Scott was a laboratory technician.

Luke Harris was the lab Mechanical Technician.

Jon Swaine was a computer programmer in the lab.

Previous Visiting Scholars

Dr. Daichi Nozaki is currently at the Research Institute of National Rehabilitation Center for Persons with Disabilities under a grant from the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science.